Jörn Wallenwein

Jörn Wallenwein is an ambitious nature and macro photographer. Architectural photography (esp. in black and white and fine art style) is another focus of interest.

Most of the macro shots were taken in the Rhine-Main area. In the evening, after work, photography is a welcome change for Jörn. Time to "come down" and even if no insect gets in front of the lens, it's a great opportunity to enjoy nature. So it's not surprising why almost all the pictures were taken in the evening. As a notoriously late riser, the morning is only suboptimal for Jörn anyway.

Favorite quote: „Light thinks it travels faster than anything but it is wrong. No matter how fast light travels, it finds the darkness has always got there first, and is waiting for it.“ – Sir Terry Pratchett.

The images shown here were taken with a digital system camera. All architecture photos are long exposures of several minutes. More about the photos under the gallery ...

More pictures and info on 1ophotos.org/wallenwein or Instagram.

Dark City Series - Fine Art Photography in Frankfurt am Main

Image 1: "Splendid". Tower 185 near the trade fair center, with a height of 200.0 meters, is the fourth highest building in Germany (together with the Main Tower). Curiously, the tower was originally intended to be only 185 meters high, as the name suggests. During construction, however, it was decided to add another 15 meters. Nevertheless, the name remains.

Image 2: "Lights in the Shadows". The Main fun fair with a Ferris wheel in front of the dark skyscrapers of Frankfurt. Shot from the southern bank of the Main.

Image 3: "Silver Giant". A surreal representation of the Silver Tower at Jürgen-Ponto-Platz. The shiny silver tower was Germany's tallest skyscraper from 1978 to 1990, standing 166 meters tall. After the completion of the Omiturm (2019) and the Grand Tower (mid-2020), the Silberturm has fallen out of the top ten German skyscrapers. However, its gleaming silver facade still makes it a sought-after photo motif.

Image 4: "Black Mirror II". Tower 185 (right) and Pollux (left). The twin towers Kastor and Pollux are not very tall for Frankfurt, but they have beautiful, reflective facades. The cover image of this gallery shows both skyscrapers in a montage with high-key processing.

Jörn Wallenwein

Jörn Wallenwein ist ein ambitionierter Natur- und Makrofotograf. Die Architekturfotografie (insb. in schwarz/weiß und im Fine Art Stil) ist ein weiterer Interessensschwerpunkt.

Die meisten der Makro-Aufnahmen sind im Rhein-Main-Gebiet entstanden. Am Abend, nach der Arbeit, ist die Fotografie für Jörn eine willkommene Abwechslung. Zeit zum „Runterkommen“ und selbst wenn kein Insekt vor die Linse kommt, ist dies eine tolle Gelegenheit die Natur zu genießen. Nicht verwunderlich also, warum fast alle Bilder am Abend aufgenommen wurden. Als notorischer Langschläfer ist für Jörn der Morgen sowieso nur suboptimal.

Lieblingszitat: „Das Licht denkt, dass es sich schneller als alles andere ausbreitet, aber es ist falsch. Egal wie schnell sich Licht ausbreitet, es stellt fest, dass die Dunkelheit immer zuerst da ist und darauf wartet.“ – Sir Terry Pratchett.

Die hier gezeigten Bilder wurden mit einer digitalen Systemkamera aufgenommen. Alle Architekturfotos sind Langzeitbelichtungen von mehreren Minuten. Mehr zu den Fotos unter der Galerie …

Weitere Bilder und Infos auf 1ophotos.org/wallenwein oder Instagram.

Dark City Series – Fine Art Fotografie in Frankfurt am Main

Bild 1: „Splendid“. Der Tower 185 in der Nähe der Messe mit 200,0 Metern Höhe das viert höchste Gebäude Deutschlands (zusammen mit dem Main Tower). Kurios, der Tower sollte ursprünglich, wie es der Name vermuten lässt, nur 185 Meter hoch werden. Beim Bau entschied man sich aber noch 15 Meter aufzustocken. Der Name blieb trotzdem bestehen.

Bild 2: „Lights in the Shadows“. Das Mainfest mit Riesenrad vor den dunklen Wolkenkratzern Frankfurts. Aufnahme vom südlichen Mainufer.

Bild 3: „Silver Giant“. Eine surreale Darstellung des Silberturmes am Jürgen-Ponto-Platz. Der silber-glänzende Turm war von 1978 bis 1990 mit seinen 166 Metern Höhe der höchste Wolkenkratzer Deutschlands. Nach der Fertigstellung des Omiturmes (2019) und des Grand Tower (Mitte 2020) ist der Silberturm aus den Top-Ten der deutschen Hochhäuser gefallen. Seine glänzende, silberne Fassade machen ihn aber immer noch zu einem begehrten Fotomotiv.

Bild 4: „Black Mirror II“. Tower 185 (rechts) und Pollux (links). Die Zwillingstürme Kastor und Pollux sind für Frankfurt nicht besonders hoch, dafür haben sie jedoch schöne, spiegelnde Fassaden. Das Titelbild dieser Galerie zeigt beide Hochhäuser in einer Montage mit High-key Bearbeitung.