Sebastian Morweiser

Sebastian Morweiser was born in 1985 and is a macro photographer from the Bergstraße district (Hesse/Germany). Through his many years of breeding tarantulas, he discovered a passion for macro photography and has been photographing insects of all kinds for 8 years. His focus is on butterflies and caterpillars, as you can easily see from his wonderful and varied gallery here.

He breeds tropical butterflies and moths as a hobby. In terms of photography, he is almost exclusively out and about before sunrise and enjoys visiting local nature reserves. He also teaches entomology at primary schools on a voluntary basis and gives guided insect tours in summer. Bringing people closer to the beauty and biodiversity of native insects is very important to him. A very commendable approach, because nature conservation begins where people discover the beauty of our nature.

Sebastian is also an independent documentary filmmaker who enjoys travelling to the rainforests of Latin America to film the flora and fauna there. His documentary „Costa Rica, 24 hours in the rainforest“ can be found on YouTube.

More pictures by Sebastian Morweiser are available at Instagram.

[Text Sebastian Morweiser and 10Photos]

Sebastian Morweiser

Sebastian Morweiser ist ein im Jahre 1985 geborener Makrofotograf aus dem Landkreiskreis Bergstraße (Hessen). Durch seine langjährige Vogelspinnenzucht hat er die Leidenschaft zur Makrofotografie entdeckt und fotografiert seit 8 Jahren Insekten aller Art. Sein Schwerpunkt liegt dabei auf Schmetterlingen und Raupen, wie man an seiner wunderbaren und vielseitigen Galerie hier auch unschwer erkennen kann.

Er züchtet hobbymäßig tropische Tag- und Nachtfalter. Fotografisch ist er fast ausschließlich vor Sonnenaufgang unterwegs und besucht dabei gerne heimische Naturschutzgebiete. Außerdem unterrichtet er ehrenamtlich Insektenkunde an Grundschulen und gibt Insektenführungen im Sommer. Den Menschen die Schönheit und Artenvielfalt der heimischen Insekten näher zu bringen ist ihm sehr wichtig. Ein sehr lobenswerter Ansatz, denn Naturschutz beginnt dort, wo der Mensch die Schönheit unserer Natur entdeckt.

Sebastian ist zudem ein unabhängiger Dokumentarfilmer, der gerne in die Regenwälder Latein Amerikas reist um die dortige Flora und Fauna zu filmen. Seine Dokumentation „Costa Rica, 24 Stunden im Regenwald“ ist auf YouTube zu finden.

Weitere Bilder von Sebastian Morweiser gibt es auf Instagram.

[Text Sebastian Morweiser und 10Fotos]